The relationship between visits, ad impressions and clicks

If you’re serious about monetising your mobile web games then you may well have considered placing adverts within them. You may well have also dismissed the idea as pointless based on previous failed attempts at raising any money this way.
Let me try and give you some encouragement to pursue it. I’ll share one or two of my own experiences whilst I try and decipher the potentially useful relationships between site visits and ad impressions. In a future related post I’ll also explore how you might expose your games to your audience for maximum effect.

Google AdSense

I’ve been using Google’s AdSense for a number of years and in recent months have seen a rise in revenues generated simply because I’ve paid more attention to it. Understanding where your traffic is coming from and how they use your site is very useful when considering how to adapt your strategies.

Back when I started to implement adverts on my web pages I had minimal traffic and it took two years to reach the threshold to receive a payment from Google.
Thanks to the rising popularity and accessibility of HTML5 games I am now going past that threshold in just a few hours every day.

I’ll dive straight in and take a look at the broadest groups that we would consider when discussing web advertising: visitors, adverts and clicks. More adverts = greater probability of clicks = potentially greater revenue; this makes sense. But one thing that I’m always curious about is how raw visitor volumes translates in to revenue. What are the steps and how can I measure it. What’s more once I’ve found a means to measure it how can I improve it?

Consider this workflow:-

VISITORS > ADVERTS DISPLAYED (IMPRESSIONS) > CLICKS > REVENUE

Essentially what I’m showing you here is a rather obvious and direct relationship between each step and the step that precedes it. Your visitors (i.e. each person to arrive on your web page) are clearly your starting point.
If I were to precede this step I may well consider Search Engines and other sources of traffic but for now I’m really only interested in what happens once we have our interested visitor.

CTR, CPC and IPV

There are some simple mathematics that can be applied to each step to give us some figures to play with and measure performance. The classic example is the relationship between steps 2 and 3; ADVERTS DISPLAYED > CLICKS. This is your Click Through Rate or CTR.

Web gurus the planet over will give you different answers to the optimum CTR. It really depends upon your site, its content and your audience.

The relationship between steps 3 and 4; CLICKS > REVENUE gives us the Cost Per Click or CPC. Here we see an average of just how much each click on an advert is worth.

Let’s apply some figures.

ADVERTS DISPLAYED = 1,500
CLICKS = 150
CTR = (150 / 1500) * 100 = 10%

A 10% CTR looks pretty healthy. One in ten of your visitors is clicking a link and therefore earning you cash. In reality this is probably (at least in terms of averages) a very high CTR. But regardless it gives you a starting point. Something to monitor, measure and maintain.

Let’s try some more figures.

CLICKS = 150
REVENUE = £22.50
CPC = £22.50 / 150 = £0.15

So each click is worth on average 15p to you. The mechanics behind all of this is of course in the guts of Google’s ad handling and the relationships that its advertisers create with its publishers in terms of bidding to have their adverts displayed. There are ways that you can improve your CPC but that is not for now.

I want to explore the relationship between steps 1 and 2. I’m no advertising guru so I’m unaware of an acronym to cover it. I’ll come to that in a moment.

On the face of it the relationship seems fairly obvious. If a visitor comes to your web page and you have 2 adverts within that page then you’ll register 1 visit and 2 adverts displayed. In advertising parlance these are commonly referred to as VISITS and IMPRESSIONS. So from now on I will do the same and I’ll call this relationship Impressions Per Visitor or IPV – the number of adverts display per visitor to my site.

It seems fairly logical that every time an advert is displayed it registers an impression. In Google Analytics I see roughly 1.7 times as many impressions as I do visits.
This may well be as a result of each game presenting an advert twice. Once on the title screen and once when the game is finished. i.e. at GAME OVER stage. I never display adverts during the actual game time.

But this in itself raises a question. Is the impression registered by virtue of the fact that the HTML element containing the advert is displayed again or as a result of a call to the Google servers to request the advert. The first scenario is really just a bit of CSS to render the element’s .display property as “block” and it seems ludicrous that this should register an impression. For all intents and purposes the advert was already there. Just not displayed.

If, as seems most likely, the only time an impression is registered is when the initial call is made to Google for the advert’s content then it seems to make sense that my games are being played on average 1.7 times per visitor. I only present the adverts in the games, not around the rest of the site.

Monitoring and using the numbers

An IPV of 1.7 gives me a starting point. But is it of any use?

What benefit could there possibly be in this figure. I know that raising my traffic volumes will have a direct impact upon my revenue by virtue of the fact that it will also raise my advertising impressions. Is there any point in encouraging this figure of 1.7 to rise?

Another thing to consider is that after each visitor has had 1.7 “goes” on my games they’re clicking a link. This effectively spells the end of their engagement with my site. They are now off to the advertisers web page and probably won’t be coming back. At least this is what I have to assume.

If I spend some effort in trying to encourage visitors to play on average 2 or 3 games and therefore raise my IPV to around 2.5 or 3 will it be of any benefit or am I simply delaying something that will most likely happen anyway? i.e. it won’t affect my overall click count.

To try and shed some light on it I trawled my Analytics data for the past few months. Here’s some figures.

August IPV = 1.53
September IPV = 1.53
October IPV = 1.59
November IPV = 1.72
December IPV (so far) = 1.83

What I can say is that I made a concerted effort to increase exposure to my games from within the PlayStar Arcade throughout October and November. I did this in a number of ways but mainly with some banner advertising to advertise my own portal. Some were placed in the games and some at the head of the site.

My IPV has risen. Prior to August the IPV was fairly static at around 1.5

Show me the money!

So crucially how does this translate in to revenue?

I’m not keen on divulging precise figures so here is a percentage shift through each month.

September saw a 2.2% rise on the revenue generated in August.
October (when I started to make significant changes to the portal in terms of promotion) saw a 37.72% rise on September’s revenue.
November a 26.48% rise on October’s revenue.
And finally December is I believe on target for a 32.36% rise on November.

So if you were to plot these on a chart you would see a dip but don’t forget this is a dip in rising figures. Although 26.48% isn’t greater than the 37.72% from the previous month it’s still a significant rise in the amount of money being generated.

A conclusion?

So there’s nothing entirely scientific in this just yet but a conclusion that I’m happy to draw is that by encouraging gamers to stay within the arcade (a good practice in any case) I am exposing them to a greater variety of advertising. This in turn appears to be converting more gamers in to “clickers”.

I naturally have a bitter sweet attitude toward this. My motivation for maintaining this arcade is not financial. I just love making games and seeing people play them. I don’t necessarily want to see every ounce of traffic disappearing to another web site because it’s a better option than playing my games. Sure any revenue generated is useful in maintaining my infrastructure but I won’t ever lose sight of the fact that what I’m here for is to make fun games.

I’ll go in to some detail shortly on the structure of the portal and how I’ve approached the challenge of retaining visitors and turning them in to loyal gamers.

Building your own mobile web gaming portal – the games

I think that it probably goes without saying  that your games are your primary asset. They are the key to the success of your portal. Treating your games as such is a pretty good step toward achieving your goal of becoming a reasonably sized independent arcade.

It doesn’t take an astro-physicist to calculate that you stand a greater chance of repeat plays in your arcade if you have something worthwhile to offer.

Making sure you have enough quality in your games to keep a player engaged, challenged, entertained and ultimately rewarded enough to come back for more is of course a challenge in itself.
I have 15 games available. Some work well. Generally the older style shooting games. Some don’t work so well. For those that don’t work so well I am analysing the performance statistics to see if there’s anything I can do to improve the experience.

I think it’s probably worth exploring the world of mobile gaming in general and not just focusing on the burgeoning mobile web market. With a little investigation of the mobile gaming world at large we can probably get a good feel for what gamers will want and expect from a gaming portal.

Here’s a few key points.

Design with replayability in mind

Something that the arcade game designers of yesteryear proved to be very good at was designing enough to challenge and entertain the gamer whilst leaving enough behind to warrant another “go”.

This is of course linked to the need for a very visible and realistic target. In the arcades this target was ultimately a high score and the bragging rights that accompany having your name or initials flashing the brightest in the high score table.
But a good arcade game was split in to smaller more bite-sized chunks.

Scramble

Scramble arcade game

Consider Scramble. A tricky game and one that took most gamers a good amount of coins to master. The premise was simple: shoot, dodge, swoop and navigate your way through a deep scrolling maze. The game would throw more and more at you until your were hit or collided with a rock or a wall. It was intense and hugely challenging.

The ultimate goal was to take that top score. This was, in the early 1980s, very much a cultural thing. Gamers in those days would spend play times in school bragging about their scores. Although perhaps that has become less of a draw to modern gamers it is still very relevant to pitch your skills against your buddies.

Yet despite all of this I do believe that as gamers we invest an incredible amount on a personal level when we play. To that end I love the idea of designing stages within a game that must be conquered. On a personal level the gamer must go just one step beyond where they were in the previous “go”. Once this is achieved their attention turns back to the score.

“Right I beat that little challenge now what score do I get as a reward?”

So with that in mind I always try and design games that break down in to stages and also offer a wide range of points values for accomplishments therein.

In a later post I’ll go in to some detail of how I get data in and out of the games and in to a database.

Offering a niche

When I first set out to make mobile web games I knew that I wanted to make arcade games. Specifically the style of game that I grew up playing. They still to this day hold the most appeal.
As a result every game that I have in my arcade is an old-school style arcade game.

Just to ram the point home I even called the portal the PlayStar Arcade. I want gamers to identify with the portal as a source of arcade games. In my next post I’ll talk in some depth about the importance of branding your site.

So when a gamer comes to my arcade to play an arcade game they know roughly what they’re about to experience. The action is brief, repetetive and very much a throw back to the games of 25 years ago. This may not always be a good thing but I think on balance the decision to aim for this niche was a good one. I am engaging a certain type of player and my audience figures and play stats appear to show an increasing audience with a greater willingness to replay.

Something’s working!

I’m always reading about the importance of variety in a game designer’s portfolio. This is probably sound advice but it must be in line with your goals. It isn’t my goal to become a freelancing game designer. I just want to manage and administer my own niche arcade. I applaud those who are able to adapt to changes in the market and stay one step ahead. But it’s not for me. I guess you have to decide what is right for you and what your goals for your portal and your design ambitions are.

Rewards, rewards, rewards

This is a short and sweet one. Make the gamer feel good about playing your game. Reward everything that she does both visually and audibly (where possible). Don’t just display a “well done”. Shower the screen with tiny stars and let the little on-screen character do a little dance. Your gamers will remember it and come craving that feel-good experience in the future.

Screenshots, blurb, action and a challenge

This is a big one. I’m willing to bet that the primary reason for somebody clicking to play your game when it’s sat amongst a sea of games is the screenshot that is used to advertise it. In fact whether it’s a screenshot or an icon make damn sure that what you’re showing is the game’s key selling point.

If your game is a driving game don’t just show a stock image of a steering wheel with the name of your game over it. Show an in-game shot (or an adapted version of it) of a vehicle on the road in an interesting setting.

This of course links back to how you design your games. Designing with a screenshot in mind is no bad thing. When you construct your games try to visualise how it’s going to look sat alongside all of the other games in your arcade.

Those old enough to remember the glory days of arcade gaming will remember the artwork on the cabinets. The image of electro-invaders on the side of the Space Invaders cabinet or the bright yellow Pac-Man set against the largely blue hue of the maze that was in the masthead; both instantly identifiable and designed to pull the gamer in.

Similarly think about how you “talk” to the gamer. You want him to click and play. Give him something to fire his imagination. Calling a game Shoot the bridges is possibly not going to inspire a young boy’s imagination in the same way that River Raid does.

River raider

River Raider HTML5 arcade game

In my own game River Raider I wrote a small introductory paragraph which read:

Fly fast and low and blast everything to pieces. Your mission: destroy ALL bridges along the mighty river and neutralise the enemy threat. But watch your fuel and steer clear of the rocks. If you’re good there’s rank and glory to play for.

I worked hard to try and capture a young boy’s imagination and give him some motivation to jump in and play. I’d hoped that with just a few words somebody might pick up that gauntlet and take up the challenge of destroying bridges and blasting “everything to pieces”.
It also serves as a neat way to present at a glance what the player can expect when they press the start button.

So that’s it. A few starters based upon my own experiences designing games and attracting gamers in to play them.
In future posts I’ll go in to a little more detail about branding your portal and acquiring traffic. I’ll also discuss the tricky problem of converting casual visitors in to loyal gamers.

HTML5 arcade driving and shooting game – short demo video

I installed the Camtasia Studio over the weekend and captured a few short videos of my development projects.
I couldn’t resist sharing the video for Road Rage as it captures everything I ever wanted in a game: colour, chaos, rich audio and a ton of explosions. Yup, I have an explosion fetish! The more the better. The louder the bang the better. In fact the more intense the on-screen action the better.

I hope to have it completed soon and upload it to the PlayStar Mobile Arcade where gamers can test their skills against one another and compete for the high score :-)

Road Rage – HTML5 arcade, driving, explosion-fest shooting game – screenshots

Some screenshots from my forthcoming arcade, driving, shooter, explosion-fest Road Rage. There’s some obvious rendering glitches and tiling to address but hopefully you can still get a feel for what the game is all about.

Here is the single sentence that I have guiding me through the game’s design:

So you stole the military’s top secret armoured stealth buggy and they want it back. But you’re having too much fun just to hand it over! Tanks, armoured cars, choppers, missiles… surely it’ll take more than that for you to surrender :)

I had a handful of images from Capcom’s Loop Master arcade game as visual reference whilst I was drawing the sprites and background art.
I think the Capcom colour scheme and striking explosion style has come out well.

Road Rage HTML5 Arcade GameRoad Rage HTML5 Arcade Game7Road Rage HTML5 Arcade GameRoad Rage HTML5 Arcade GameRoad Rage HTML5 Arcade GameRoad Rage HTML5 Arcade GameRoad Rage HTML5 Arcade GameRoad Rage HTML5 Arcade GameRoad Rage HTML5 Arcade Game

HTML5 game portal – monitoring the first month’s statistics

As I strive to build my own HTML5 game portal I am becoming increasingly conscious of the importance of direct traffic.

Over recent years as my games have found their way to different portals and the games on my own web site have been called up from countless sites, I’ve built up a pretty useful link network. I figured it was about time I properly structured each of these pages with analytics code so that I could measure performance and try to figure out what was working and what wasn’t.

I use Google’s Analytics.

Starting on November 8th this year I set up every page (across a number of my domains) where I have a game to include the short JavaScript snippet that Google uses to record its activity.
Since a number of these pages have AdSense advertising contained within them I also linked the Analytics property to AdSense. Some further information on how to link AdSense and Analytics.

I quickly identified that much of my traffic was referred from an external source.

What does this mean?

Simply put it means that the analytics code has recorded that when the page was loaded (and the script executed) it was as a result of a link or referral from a previous page.

A link is obviously a physical click on an hyperlink and a referral may well be as a result of a redirect which can be achieved in a number of ways. Either way the visitor arrived at my site from an external source.

This is good and healthy and all that but I’d rather people came direct to my site as a result of them liking what they’ve seen and using a bookmark.
So I started to scratch my head and consider how I might encourage direct traffic.

I put my gamer’s hat on and played a game on the portal. I went through the game experience all the way to the end (game over) and analysed the experience. It felt pretty flat. The game was enjoyable enough but my only option at the end was to “have another go” or tap a back button to return to the external source.

So I created a banner to advertise my portal and instead of simply presenting a “Game Over” label I also presented the graphic. A clearly marked “X” in the top right corner indicated that you could skip the advert whilst clicking anywhere else on it took you to my portal’s homepage.

My analytics code was telling me that most links were coming in to Galactians 2. So I placed the banner at the end of that game. I re-uploaded the game and allowed 24 hours to collect some data.

The results were surprising.

Within 24 hours my portal’s homepage had gone from single figure hits to triple figures.
Specifically 904 unique hits overnight.

Something was working so I replicated the banner advertising my portal in the second most popular game, Spy Chase.
The unique hits started to rise again. I added the banner to a third game, Danger Ranger.

Another quick look at the user behaviour and I could see that whilst the number of visitors to the games was increasing the number of first time visits was falling. On 8th November 81.94% of visitors were coming for the first time.

Finally the number of referrals on the 8th November stood at 6,353. The total number of visitors for the day was 7,261. So referrals on this day accounted for around 87.5% of all traffic.

My next exercise was to redirect internally the traffic that was scattered around my web pages. This fragmentation of games had always driven me mad so I took the opportunity to redirect everything to my portal. I made sure that if the user was going to Galactians 2 they would end up at the portal’s Galactians 2 page. I didn’t want to break the experience up by presenting another click.

By around the 15th of November I was happy that all games were now pointing to the portal. This was excellent as it meant I was finally maintaining a single codebase.

So one month later what kind of numbers am I looking at?

Well the number of unique hits to my home page on the 11th December was 4,400. A rise of 3,496.
The percentage of first time visitors to the site has dropped to 61.91%. Presumably the 20% shift accounts for repeat visitors.
On the 8th December the percentage of referred traffic stood at 44.63%.

My assumption that the decrease in referred traffic amounted to an increase in direct traffic needed to be tested. It seemed too good to be true. Had I skewed the figures by placing so many redirects on the site?

Whereas previously a visitor was coming from Domain A to Domain B where Domain B was the only place I had analytics code installed, they were now potentially coming from Domain  A to Domain B (page 1) to Domain B (page 2). Both pages in Domain B had analytics script embedded.

Would the final resting place (page 2) within Domain B register the event as direct / (none) traffic for Domain B?
Or would it, as I hoped, register it as a referral by virtue of the fact that the original source was Domain A. i.e. external.

I found Google’s help pages to be a pretty useful starting point.

Causes for self-referrals as a traffic source

On that page you can download a custom report created by Google to throw at one of your views within Analytics. I downloaded the report and ran it and it came back with no issues.
Digging a little further I installed the Chrome extension Tag Assistant. With this installed you can quickly analyse each page within your portal to ensure that you don’t have duplicate tracking code installed. I’m not sure of the impact here but it seems like good practice not to do it.

I’m happy that the figures that I’m seeing for traffic and referrals are accurate. This is rather thrilling as it means that the educated changes that I am making seem to be working.

Update: after a little digging around the web I found some interesting reading on behaviour related to mobile phones and searches via Google since iOS6. I’m not sure how much this relates to my situation. Probably not a great deal. But it’s worth a read none the less.

And the difference in AdSense revenue generated over the first month as a result of these changes?

A rise of 230% on the previous month.

Building your own mobile web gaming portal – an introduction

I always wanted to operate my own virtual video game arcade. A place where I could focus on building arcade games for people to enjoy and compete with their friends.
I remember back when I was developing my first JavaScript game about 5 years ago it was my ultimate goal to build a suite of games that would interface with my own system where scores, players and stats would be stored centrally. As a data nerd the prospect of poring over megabytes of performance stats was and still is a huge thrill.

In  my first couple of years as an HTML5 game developer I have enjoyed the process of crafting games and then reaching out to the market to licence them and move on to the next project. The revenue generated each time providing a strong incentive to press on.

Increasingly in recent months it seems that portal operators want to provide broader functionality to their user base. As a provider of games to their portfolio I am understandibly being asked to integrate my games, via APIs, in to their systems.
I don’t really have a problem with this and my games are structured such that it ought to be straight forward.
But there is a darker cloud on the horizon in the form of In App Purchasing (IAP).

If you want to lose my interest quickly start talking about in app purchasing. I despise it.
It is not a gamer’s solution and I am convinced that it is not something that gamers want. Sure they appreciate the free game up front but IAP brings with it an uneven playing field. Offering IAP in a social environment seems to me like a nonsense.

So a few months back I started to think about my own portal system again. What’s more I’m looking at turning my back on the market (or at least the majority of it) and designing the portal to be self sufficient. i.e. generate revenue.

This is no small undertaking. Successful portals operate efficiently because they have a large userbase. Lots of traffic means lots of eyes on your adverts and increased potential for that all-important click that will earn you a few pence.
With several thousand clicks pennies turn in to pounds and with enough pounds in the bank you can of course fund the kind of marketing strategies that will increase traffic and loyalty.

So what are the obvious barriers to creating a self sufficient gaming portal for mobile web gamers?

Simply put, games, traffic and web development knowledge.

Here’s a very brief intro to some of the key areas to consider.

Web development

I’m a web developer by profession so the prospect of assembling a system to manage my arcade doesn’t faze me in the slightest. In fact I rather enjoy the challenge.
Using standard WAMP tech (Windows, Apache, MySQL and PHP) I aim to build a system that will be capable of entertaining countless simultaneous players whilst recording their stats.
As the system takes shape I’ll share some more thoughts on its development.

Advertising

I’ve had a lot of success (thanks to the portals) placing advertising within my games.

Actually it is pretty much my only option since I’ve never planned to invite other game developers on board via a licencing model. I want the games in my arcade to reflect my tastes – retro, pixels, bombs, lasers, explosions and frantic pace.

Advertisers are targetting mobile in earnest. A quick look at my advertising control panel sees that hundreds of advertisers are pumping their ads through my channels every day.

I use Google’s AdSense. The adverts are placed on the game page within the markup and this page is for all intents and purposes just another web page. I configure AdSense to allow for targetting by advertisers and make a point of defining the content as mobile. Specifically mobile games.

The response has been incredible and my CTR and CPC are increasing all the time.

Traffic

So how do you make advertising work?

Well you need traffic. Lots of it.

One fifth of the planet has an active Facebook account. Specifically 1.19 billion people use the site every month. This is staggering. Of these users 874 million access the service via a mobile phone every month.

Social networking is a huge shot in the arm for anybody looking to reach out to gamers and build their own audience.

Of the 874 million people that engage with Facebook every day how many of those do you think would happily play a casual arcade game on their mobile phone?

How many of those Facebook users do you think own a smartphone capable of playing such a game?

Even if the answer to all of this is 10% that’s 87 million people. To just wave your portal banner in front of 1% of this potential audience is significant.

So how do you do all of this?

Well I’m by no means an expert but I’m happy to share my current findings and the strategy which I use.

In recent months I’ve seen direct traffic to my web site increase from 10 to 15% to around 50%.
I’ve seen average play times stabilise around 3 to 4 minutes whereas previously they were less than 1 minute.
Now that the games are centralised I’ve seen a huge increase in the amount of “activity” and movement between games. The same player will play 3 or 4 different games in a single session where previously they played just 1.
And crucially I’ve seen revenue from advertising increase significantly.

To stand a real chance of establishing a decent gaming portal for mobile web gamers I have identified the following key areas to focus on.

  • making great games
  • obtaining traffic
  • converting traffic in to “users”
  • converting traffic in to revenue
  • effective communication with the user base
  • retaining users
  • recording reliable performance statistics
  • understanding the data

So that lays the foundation.

In the posts that follow I want to concentrate on each of the areas outlined above to try and shed a little light on my approach and what has worked / failed for me in the few months that I’ve been operating my HTML5 game portal.

One thing that I will share ahead of all of that is my strapline for this project:

“PROVIDE FUN. NEVER LOSE SIGHT OF THE FUN. MAKE GAMES NOT JUST A MEANS OF EXTRACTING MONEY FROM PEOPLE”.

I have this written above my desk :)

Thanks for reading.

Upgrading an old game

I am currently in the process of updating and modernising my catalogue of games. The main reason being that they run with out-dated setTimeout() functionality when we have better options available to us these days.

So I’m looking at Spy Chase. A car game that I wrote about two years ago and which still enjoys several thousand plays a day on my portal. It’s a popular game and consequently I’m reluctant to meddle with it too much. But it needs an upgrade.

So much about the game works well. The pace of the game feels about right but if there’s one thing I could happily change it’s the difficulty levels. It really is just too easy.
In my previous post I mentioned average game session times. It seems that around 3 minutes is optimum to trigger that “just one more go” in a player. Anything longer than that and I’m struggling to keep the player sufficiently challenged. The average game time for Spy Chase is around 10 minutes. It’s far too long.

Much of this was down to the limitations of mobile browsers at the time of writing it. There was a limit to the number of sprites and objects that I could litter the screen with back then. I pool sprite objects and pick them from the pool dynamically. The size of the entity pool was around 16. Entities such as trees and power-ups that whizz down the screen during the game would start to stutter on an iPhone two years ago if they went above 16 on the screen at any one time.
I could comfortably increase the pool from 16 to 160 today and they’d glide beautifully without any issues.

So I want to capitalise on this performance boost and create not only a different challenge but a different game.
I enjoy playing some of the “endless runner” games currently popular on the App Store and am keen to explore the potential for an endless running driving game.
Spy Chase was one long road dash broken down in to short levels that culminated with the player capturing a spy car. I may well remove the spy car all together and just heap increasing amounts of pressure on the player.

I have a few options here.
The dynamics of the game allow for collision with other cars. The player can repeatedly ram a car and force it off the road at the expense of some damage to his own car. Health collectables repair his car.
Other forms of damage come in the shape of obstacles such as an oil slick and a road cone. Finally if the player veers off the road the car will sustain damage.
So it makes sense that I could adjust the width of the road to present a challenge as well as increasing the number of obstacles to avoid. But I want to go a step further and put my trademark gun fire in there.
I was always a huge fan of Spy Hunter in the arcades. You could power your car up with guns and shoot at the enemy. This I like. Better still it makes sense that the enemy should fight back!
So on the more complex and challenging stages of the game the player is trying to stay on the road whilst dodging obstacles, enemy bullets and stray missile-launching cars and trucks.
I will also increase the base road speed to reduce the amount of time that the player has to react.

Designing and building these games is a lot of fun and rather surprisingly revisiting old games isn’t nearly as painful as I thought it might be. You have to love the advances in technology. Long may it continue.

Tweaking games for a better challenge

I’ve been playing around with a few of my older games lately. Galactians 2 in particular has spent a good amount of time on the ramps.

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Swoop, dodge, blast, bounce and splat

When I wrote it a year or so ago I was keen to just upgrade the graphics from the previous incarnation, Galactians, and boost the player ship’s laser power. My design document for the game was (as usual) a single sentence that roughly read “swoop, dodge, blast, bounce and splat”

To that end it came out pretty close to the design :)

It was a game that I’d enjoyed making and had tested to death before I unleashed it upon the portals. But I guess there was always an element of “am I making it too easy by giving the player so many laser power-ups?”
I still think I was. But the amount of fun that could be had wiping the screen clear of swooping aliens in under 3 seconds was just too irresistable to ignore.

3 second attack waves?

I’d played with the concept of short waves of attack with HyperGunner. It worked quite well in that game so I was keen to repeat it.

4I played Galactians 2 a lot this last week and of course my ability to rack up the high scores increased. Before very long I was in to the millions and the average game length was probably around 10 minutes.
It was only when I stopped to look at that number 10 that it occurred to me that it might just be a bit too long and a bit too easy. Should I be thinking about reducing the average game time?

My Google Analytic stats show me that the average amount of time on a game page is around 3 minutes. This isn’t exactly scientific. It only takes a handful of players to stay on the page for 10 minutes whilst the other lord-knows-how-many-thousand duck in and out within seconds to skew the figures. But that aside I stuck with the notion of 3 minutes per game. It seemed like a reasonable amount of time to be playing and quite possibly the optimum amount of time to trigger that all important I must have another go and do better.

So where next?

The frankly ridiculous jelly bomb

Well I didn’t want to mess with the core mechanics of the game.
I liked how the aliens peeled off the formation and swooped to attack. I also liked how later levels would see a non-destructable guided missile and the frankly ridiculous “jelly bomb”. It also seemed to work that on later levels just as the player was becoming comfortable with the repetition of blasting and splatting some aliens would target the player with their bombs rather than simply dropping them.

It was when I focused on the bombing habits of the alien bugs that I realised something fairly crucial to the game’s challenge / reward dynamic. The distance between the hovering alien formation and the player’s tank was fairly large. Around 200 pixels from the base of the lowest alien to the turret of the player’s tank.

Within that space the aliens would shift left and right whilst diving often in a sharp angle. On the shallower dives the player was pretty vulnerable. But on the steeper dive curves the player had a lot of time to react.
So I tweaked the game to shunt the player up by 48 pixels (I always work in 8’s with sizing in these games. No idea why?) and reduce the severity of the alien dive curves.

More challenging and more fun

The result was incredible. The challenge presented by reducing the player’s available response time was enormous. Better still it actually felt like the kind of arcade game that I grew up playing. I was thrilled.

My high scores were halved, as was my play time. Rarely did I score 1 million and rarely did I reach 4 minutes per game. But nothing was lost. In fact quite the opposite. The game was more challenging and consequently more fun.

The concept of reducing reaction times is now high in my mind as I shift my focus to some of the other games.
In particular Jumpin’ Jasper, which is nearly complete, is prime for applying this “rule” to.

There is of course another benefit to shrinking the play area in this way. The game suddenley opens up to a wider audience of Samsung Galaxy Y and iPhone 4 users. In fact my player sessions have more than doubled as a result.

An extremely worthwhile exercise.

Another take on Channel 4’s “How video games changed the world”

On Saturday evening Channel 4 aired a programme about how video games changed the world. In it Charlie Brooker skips through the last 30 odd years detailing the games that defined the era.

Predictably there’s initial reference to Space War and a brief look at Atari and the arcades before we delve in to the home computing scene of the early 1980s.
This was where my interest lay.

As a boy playing games at home I played the games of Jeff Minter, Tony Crowther, Matthew Smith, Adam Billyard, David Braben, Paul Woakes, Tim & Chris Stamper… the list goes on. I think this underlines my point. I knew the coders behind the games. They were my heroes back in the day and a crucial part of the British gaming scene.
Better still they were a direct influence on a young boy’s imagination providing a bucket full of inspiration to a budding game designer.

I remember typing out code listings from the gaming magazines late in to the evening only to find that they didn’t work. If there’s anything that hones your skills and tries your patience it’s fixing syntax errors on a Dragon 32 at nearly midnight on a school night.
After much frustration and guesswork I’d get the game working. Of course the game was never really what I was interested in. It was to provide a blueprint for my own game. I just wanted somebody else to have written the high score table and the collision detection.
There was always a certain amount of bewilderment at how PEEKs and POKEs worked. Similarly the endless lines of DATA that were punched in to create graphics left me baffled. I just knew that the end result was something that looked like a game.

I must have written dozens of games in this way.
My favourite Rasta Plaster Blaster was an adapted Breakout clone. I’d pinched somebody else’s code for firing a ball at a wall and turned it all on its side. My paddle was a little man that shuffled up and down the screen hurling white dots at a coloured wall.
I loved it.

For me the British gaming scene always had an element of eccentricity. Manic Miner, Jet Set Willy, Wanted: Monty Mole, Head Over Heels to name but a few. I’d love to see two hours of TV handed over to this period in the history of computer gaming. It’d be awesome to see just what the developers of these little gems thought about their work and discover what they’re doing today.

There’s probably enough scope to cover the likes of Jeff Minter and Matthew Smith in their own shows. I guess it may not have national appeal but I’d be willing to bet there’s an audience for it somewhere.

Check out the interview with Charlie Brooker over at Edge Online in which he discusses the TV show and his own gaming past.

The concept of Greed in game design

A concept that always intrigues me in game design is the concept of Greed. That powerful force that is strong enough to pull you away from your chosen path in the game to try and achieve something. You’re effectively taking a chance. You don’t need to pursue this extra “thing” to complete the game or even the level but the rewards for being successful are just too great to ignore.

capcom 1942

In shoot ’em ups we see it in the pursuit of power boosts to your guns / lasers. Classically in 1942 (above) you were presented with a formation of red planes. If you knocked them all out you were presented with a power-up.
I employed something similar in Crossfire. You didn’t need to hunt this special power down but you just knew that having that extra firepower would be a) more fun and b) pretty handy for completing the level.

With Jumpin’ Jasper I have a similar concept. When a bonus balloon drifts across the screen the player can leap in to it to burst it and take the rewards. Similarly when the Squirrel bounces on top of a monster the monster’s subsequent demise spawns a bonus item. Currently bonuses are purely a points boost. Hardly a real driving force for the player. So I’d like to create a mini-challenge by having a sequence of bonus items to collect. They appear ghosted out at the top of the screen – a strawberry, some cherries and probably a banana (yellow works well against the game’s backdrop) , an apple and an orange. Red, purple, yellow, green and orange respectively all work well against the game’s bluish backdrop.

As the player collects each item of fruit they populate the empty slots at the top of the screen and a special bonus is awarded when all are collected. Quite what yet I don’t know but it will hopefully be enough to see the player divert from his current path to try his luck with the bonus balloon as it drifts in to view. Or possibly take on the monsters to achieve the same result. Of course the random nature of the bonus items’ spawning means that the player could well go to all that trouble to spawn a bonus item that they’ve already collected.

I had initially wanted to run a story through the game and have certain side elements unlocked with progress. This could have been a neat way to involve the bonus items but on reflection I’d rather wait. My next game (which will use the same code framework) will probably lend itself to that approach more since it will be more of a science fiction affair.